The Most Important Aspects of Designing Products

The product design process can be a long and complex one. You want to create products that are unique and that stand out from the other options already on the market. At the same time, you need to ensure your target audiences are interested in what you’re creating. It’s a tough balancing act but it’s one you’ll need to get right if your business is to succeed. Here are some of the most important aspects of the product design process.

Perfecting Function

The function of your products is always going to be important. If they’re not functional, they’re not going to be of any use to your customers and the people who will eventually be using them. Sure, other aspects of design matter too but they only matter once the core functions of the product are correct and suitable for their purpose. This should be your team’s number one priority.

Focus on Goals

Before you start the product design process, you should set a range of goals for what you want to achieve. These goals are important and they shouldn’t be cast aside as soon as the actual work of designing the products has begun. It’s important that you stick to your goals and keep reminding your team of them. When you do that, you’ll ensure the product aligns with the things you originally wanted to achieve.

Solve Real Problems

Any good product that sells to the public in high volumes solves a real-world problem. People buy products that benefit them in various ways. They want to invest their money in things that meet a need or solve a problem that they have in their day to day lives. That’s what so many very successful businesses are built-in and you shouldn’t ignore that. If it doesn’t solve a real problem, people won’t feel that urgent need to buy it.

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Image Source - CC0 License

Making Them Viable and Affordable

They also need to be viable and affordable products. Remember, if a product is expensive to create, it’s going to be expensive for your customers to buy too, and that immediately limits its appeal and market potential. Research the things that you need and check for compatibility with other products. If your product is meant to be used alongside, liquid level sensors, for example, make sure that’s possible.

Simplicity Isn’t a Dirty Word

You should remember that simplicity doesn’t have to be seen as a bad thing by your business when designing products. People often like simplicity and the beauty of many great products lies in their simplicity when compared to other options. So, your business’s new product doesn’t have to be complicated in order to be good and appealing to the public.

There’s no one way to design products that your target audience will want to buy. It’s not as simple as that. But by following the advice outlined here, you’ll stay on the right track and develop strong ideas and designs for products. That’s what’s most important.

Please note, this article contains affiliate links.

Smart Solutions To Common Small Business Conundrums

Whatever type and size business you run, there will always be obstacles to overcome. Of course, when you are operating a small business, there are some conundrums you are more likely to encounter. The good news here is that they are often very solvable in simple, smart ways. Keep reading to find out more. 

Lack of staff skillset 

One of the issues small businesses often face is that they do not have enough employees to cover all of the skill sets they need. For example, a small online t-shirt retailer won't have an IT specialist to build their site or run their network. There are also unlikely to have a marketing professional to create their strategy.  

Luckily, two solutions can be applied to this problem. The first is to outsource the projects that you cannot complete yourselves. This is an option due to the gig economy. Of course, with outsourcing, you will still need to shoulder a significant cost, as the best people do not come at a cheap price. 

Alternatively, you can remove the need for additional specialist skills in your business—a task that is now possible by using products like SimplyClouds hosting service. In fact, this service is designed to be so simple to use and manage that you won't need any specialist IT services.

Smaller marketing budget 

Smaller businesses often come with smaller budgets. Of course, this applies to all departments, including marketing, which can be problematic. After all, marketing your business lets your customer base know what you have to offer and helps to convince them to buy. Without marketing your small business, it could struggle to sell as many products as it needs to be successful. 

There is hope here, however! This is because effective marketing doesn't have to be expensive.

Of course, now with social media, search engine marketing, and SEO, it is possible to create marketing content that fulfills your small business goals—all without having a sky-high budget. In fact, the focus is now on content that is entertaining, informative, and engaging, rather than slick big-budget campaigns and productions. This means that small businesses have just as much chance of being successful in their marketing campaigns as any multinational conglomerate. 

Restricted income stream

Finally, an issue that can plague many small businesses is limited income streams. When a company only has a single stream set up, this makes the whole enterprise risky. 

Planning to have multiple streams of income from the outset of launching your business is the way to go. You can do this by appealing to different demographics or by diversifying the products and services you offer. This approach will help you to create a stable income for years to come.

Please note, this article contains affiliate links.

Adding Wellness into Everyday Living

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Incorporating wellness into our everyday lives can be difficult but it’s critical if we want to feel, think, and look better. Dr. Tasha Holland-Kornegay makes wellness much easier to add to our everyday lives with her soon-to-release platform, Wellness In Real Life.

With this innovative new platform, she allows therapists to host events in their local areas, local businesses to promote certain deals to Wellness in Real Life members, and general wellness professionals to access exclusive events, programs, and deals. Sign up on Wellness In Real Life to be notified when the platform launches later this fall.

Dr. Holland Kornegay is also holding a wellness social “A Taste of Self-Care” on October 12, 2019 from 3pm to 5pm at 1702 Sheriff Watson Road, Sanford, NC. Refreshments and light hors d’oeuvres will be served from Catering Works. Vegan food options will be available. Attendees will also enjoy live music, chair massages from LoDo Chair Massage, as well as variety of other wellness services.

All of those interested in attending should send an RSVP to Tasha@TashaGuru.com.

How Failing Businesses Perennially Spin Their Wheels

You may be aware that businesses of all kinds are formed each and every day, but only some can make it to success. Some of them may never know true success, but can break even and keep the operation going, keeping everyone paid and relatively happy. This may not be considered just as successful as a brand taking over their industry, but it can be considered a favorable outcome.

However, because we wish to become successful ourselves, we often find that we ignore those businesses that fail, hoping to avoid their failings through not taking tips from them, or being advised by them in any way at all. And yet there is a certain wisdom in learning of the failings of certain businesses, and in developing a better progression towards things.

The carrot and stick technique is best, in that we should pay attention to the businesses that are successful and we wish to replicate, while also being fully informed of how things can go wrong. So, in the spirit of clarity, let us consider how failing businesses perennially spin their wheels year after year:

Failing To Change

When a business fails to change with the times, it can often become irrelevant. In the modern, technologically-led climate, this happens sooner than later. Consider using a bank in 2019. Most of us expect our bank to be compatible with online banking options, and most of them provide this. 

You even have banks that are solely based online with little need for branches. But if a bank didn’t offer this? Or contactless payments? Or the ability to register for Google, Apple, or Samsung Pay services? How about the ability for fingerprint logins on their app? Unfortunately, there are still some banks that miss out these vital modern features, and it’s not hard to see how many clients may switch to a new bank due to this. This limited example shows that it’s always important to stay up to date. Stagnancy has never been more of a punishment for a business.

Avoiding Modern Marketing Practices

Sure, magazine ads, billboards, television advertisements, and flyers still work out well, but they are hardly the modern standard. Modern marketing practices, such as learning who is the best SEO company, how social media targeting might be affected towards your audience, and sponsoring content that people enjoy can all give your firm a more direct and purposeful reach over their audience. When you apply this carefully, you can ensure that your marketing efforts have a modern edge to them, and they will likely give you much more to work with in terms of reach.

Failing To Listen To Feedback

More than ever, consumers are aware of their spending practices and wish for a great experience. They wish for you to continually justify their business, not just depend on it. This means that without taking a forward approach to listening to feedback or thinking you know the best about everything, you can actually take giant mis-steps. Think about how Apple is now starting to become less of a popular choice due to overpriced devices being lower spec than the rest of the competition. This is a direct choice to ignore feedback, and it’s hurting them, even if slightly.

With this advice, you are certain to shake yourself from business stagnancy by identifying where you are spinning your wheels.

Please note, this article contains affiliate links.

Community Partnerships With Non-Profits – A Powerful Way To Promote Change

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The importance of a partnership between community leaders and non-profit organizations should never be underestimated. It is a powerful combination that can provide countless opportunities and benefits to both entities. Although it is not always an intuitive relationship, charities, nonprofits, and religious organizations often have an abundance of influence in communities that may go unrecognized by community leaders. This type of partnership is significant because it works, and while the benefits are flowing, the community grows. Here are some steps you can take to promote partnerships in your civic area.

Recognize a Need

Most communities have many unmet needs, so identifying a possible initiative to strive for or resources to fight over may not be difficult. The problem is often finding a need in the community that fits into the mission of the nonprofit, too. For the partnership to be successful, both sides must feel they are benefiting from the actions of the group. This can be essential in the further partnership efforts for the benefit of more community actions.

Prepare a Plan

Although it sounds easy, when you begin to prepare a plan of action from two distinct points of view, it may take some work to hone the exact proposal. Grasping the full extent of the problem and identifying possible issues connected to the issue may take weeks. Let your potential partners know the ways you can imagine addressing the situation, ask for feedback, and then realize the solution may change as more information pertaining to the community comes into view.

Identify Partners

Identifying potential partners may be one of the most difficult tasks. Not only must the company or non-profit have a possible stake in the situation, but the problem must also be something they are actually aware of. If the group you approach is unable to partner with you at the specified time, you can learn how to ask for donations to your cause. Government agencies, coalitions, businesses and other organizations are often happy to donate to worthwhile causes when they are unable to partner.

Craft an Approach

The implementation of any strategy can require many hours of processing, planning, and reevaluating. It is important to involve the community, partners, and any organization involved in the project with appropriate and frequent updates. This allows for timely objections or protests about possible key solutions or resolutions to the problem. Allowing each of those involved to have a voice can prevent possible negative feelings or publicity.

Evaluate Results

Evaluation is a step that starts a few days after the project begins. As the collected data signals the impact the project is having on the community, it may also identify problems that were unnoticed, critical issues that require immediate resolution, or problems in the information presented. As with all projects, there may be questions that are left unresolved.

Making positive changes in your area often requires working with community leaders to foster a partnership. Whether it is where you work, live, or socialize, the collaboration can help further shared goals. By approaching the plan together and combining workforce, ingenuity, and skills, the task can be completed much more quickly, and to the satisfaction of all.

Please note, this article contains affiliate links.

Boosting Sales With Mobile Payments

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https://pixabay.com/photos/iphone-smartphone-apps-apple-inc-410324/

Unless you’re quite tech-savvy it’s pretty understandable that you might not know precisely what a mobile payment gateway is. A payment gateway is, essentially, an application that can be used by e-businesses and high-street stores alike to process credit card payments. When this becomes portable, you get a mobile version of the service.

As a small business owner or founder, you’ll know that your point of sale (POS) is one of the most important parts of your business. In this guide, we’re going to look into mobile card processing further. It used to be that providing a mobile POS solution for smaller business people meant a purchasing a lockbox with a cash float in it, but your options are more varied now.

How Mobile POS Can Boost Your Sales

Have you ever had people visit you at a market or crafts fair only to leave without purchasing something because of a lack of cash and no ATMs in the area? What walks away is more than a single sale, it is a potential lifelong customer, who could also market your business to others. This is where mobile payments come in handy; if you are able to accept card payments, or, better still, mobile equivalents like Apple Pay and Google Wallet you’ll make the life of your customers much easier.

Where this comes in handy as a marketing tool is if you ensure that your customers know they have the option to pay this way by putting up signs around your stall, pitch, or store. Advertising that you have a mobile POS might even tempt people who wouldn’t have even come over to look (assuming that you’d only take cash) to give you and your products a chance. So, as you can see, if you use your contactless point of sale correctly you can bring in new customers and please existing customers; a win-win situation for you and them.

How To Choose a Mobile POS

There are many different forms of mobile payments that can be taken advantage of when you’re in need of more payment options at your business. Cashless payment was a big innovation when it first came out, but these days you don’t always even need a card to pay.

Apps, and innovations like Apple Pay, have revolutionised the way we buy and sell goods. Mobile payment options these days include portable card-reading terminals that connect to tablets and smartphones. The benefits of this kind of technology are pretty self-evident; as a consumer, you have more options, and as a vendor, you boost your potential customer base by making payments from credit cards and even mobile phones viable. This doesn’t have to be limited to your online store or physical shop, however, you can also use affordable, wireless hand-held card readers that can be used in mobile settings such as outdoor markets and conferences. It is possible to set up this kind of system by yourself, but there are plenty of companies that will set up, maintain, and manage such a network for you for a very reasonable fee.

Please note, this article contains affiliate links.

4 Things Every Single Retail Store Should Have

Photo by Urmi (License: Creative Commons BY)

Photo by Urmi (License: Creative Commons BY)

You’ve managed to get your initial idea up and running, huh? Good. Not many budding entrepreneurs managed to actually turn a piece of imagination into something real. Your business plan’s looking good, and you’ve got the funds and the wherewithal to make your mark. You’ve worked hard to get to this stage, but the hard work doesn’t end here, you’ve got to keep it up if you want to be successful.

You build up enough of a brand and a following to open up a store. Selling product solely online just isn’t going to cut it anymore. For whatever reason, you need to create a front-facing and interpersonal store that can do an amazing job of selling and continuing the relationship with the customers. But it’s not just about buying a property, opening, and hoping that people will walk through the door in droves. There are lots of things to consider: some are super simple; others are a little more complicated – for example, psychological cues and how they might manipulate a potential sale.

For now, though, we’re going to focus on the basics. Without a nice, comfy foundation, you won’t be able to build more advanced and specific parts. These aren’t difficult to comprehend, so you shouldn’t have much trouble, don’t worry!     

A Clean And Organized Area

Imagine walking into a store and seeing nothing but dirt and dust. The place smells a little, and it looks like it hasn’t been treated with any love whatsoever. Are you going to be tempted to re-enter that store again? Probably not, right? It doesn’t matter if they’re selling what you want, you don’t want to have to be in among that kind of thing.

Now picture yourself as a customer in your store. How do you want the overall feel to be? Obviously that of a sparkling, shining emporium! Keep the store maintained; do some work on it at least every other day.

Think about the layout, too. It doesn’t matter whether you want to have lots of items on show, if there’s too many, then things will get cluttered. Create a smooth and simple design that would be nice on the eyes. You don’t want to overwhelm anyone; all they want to do is browse and maybe buy something!

Wonderfully Trained Staff

You might get away with having a few clueless guys and girls, but that will only get you so far. If you have passionate people that actually care about selling your goods, then you’re going to have a much better tenure in this property. Your outlet will only be as successful as the staff wants it to be. If they’re firing on all cylinders, then so are you.   

The Ability To Accept All Payment Methods

How annoying is it when you walk into an old or low-budget place and are greeted with a big fat ‘we only take cash, sorry.’ Super annoying. Make sure you’re able to handle whatever the customer needs. Things like credit card processing should kind of go without saying these days, but many places are still pretty archaic, unfortunately.

Complete And Utter Safety  

Keeping everyone safe while they browse through your store is super important – you don’t want any legal action on your shoulders. Make sure everything is good to go before opening. You’ll need to be safe in terms of security, too. CCTV cameras, alarm systems, and even guards should be contemplated.  

Please note, this article contains affiliate links.

Being An Entrepreneur Starts With The Basics

When it comes to business, we may think that too many people are jumping right into this, without first thinking about the basics of business. It’s now so appealing to be your own business, and to have a company of your own that’s providing you with a solid income. It’s well known that working for a company, and being stuck in the corporate cycle is just not something that’s appealing anymore.

But this large influx of people who wish to set up their own business is creating a crowded market, so now is the best time to think about doing it. But diving right into it without first understanding the basics is one of the worst things that you can do. But naturally, not everyone is geared up to run a business, or to understand everything that it entails.

Given this, this article is going to aim to introduce you to the basics of business, and how being an entrepreneur can grow from something you’re doing on your own, to something that’s going to grow into an empire. So have a read of the points we’re going to make below, and see if you can learn something you didn’t know before.

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Technology Is Power

Business is now led by technology with more people setting up businesses that are online based. Your basic brick and mortar shop seems to be dying out, but that’s only because our generation and the generation we’re raising, is now so focused on technology and using it. So as a business, especially those of you who are web based, you need to think about all of the software you can have that will benefit your work. Even the basics, such as the Microsoft Office Suite for Mac, is becoming ever so important.

You can do so much with this from creating contracts to send to customers or suppliers to managing your finances through spreadsheets. But the software you can use extends further than this. There are software solutions that can help you to manage money, time, marketing… the lot! You just have to do a bit of research, and find out which one is going to really benefit your business.

Reputation Is Key

As a small startup, reputation is something that can be hard to build, and is often not focused on from the beginning. But you’ll admit that when you’re just starting out, this is the time that you’re most likely going to make mistakes, and perhaps build a bit of negative feedback, but that’s only because you’re getting used to how your business works.

So right from the beginning, focus on the basics of building a good customer rapport, which will in turn build an even better reputation. The more people you can get talking about you for all of the right reasons in the beginning, the more attention you’ll attract. Try actively encouraging customers to leave positive reviews on your social media pages, and web pages, for all to see. Word will spread as long as you market your company well alongside this.

Please note, this article contains affiliate links.

Safeguarding Your Online Business This Year

Safeguarding Your Business

Running an online business takes a lot of time and dedication, and when done well it can have a huge impact on your life and the notoriety you can find in the business world. When it comes to running a successful online empire, it is important for you to keep it safe and secure. 

Although technology can open up the door for plenty of opportunities, it also puts you at risk of losing your assets. An online business shows a stark difference to a physical one because rather than having a bunch of paperwork and a warehouse full of products, you simply have a database with your data online. Having every asset of your business online holds several risks and this is why it is important for you to think about the ways that you can protect it. 

Whether you decide to use an identity verification service for all authorized personnel or use a cyber security program, there are plenty of ways to safeguard your online business today. 

1. Close your door

When you come home after a long day of work, you enter your home, and then you close and lock the door. If you want to ensure that you are safe and secure all year long, it is important for you to close the door on your computer when you shut it down. This door can be a piece of software or code which will act as a barrier against malware and it can make a huge impact on your security. There are tools you can use for your computer, laptop, tablet and phone. 

2. Write an IT policy 

If you are running a small business which employs others, there is a huge responsibility for you to safeguard everyone in the business as well as educate them on online safety. This is why it is time for you to create a security policy for online data, which has to be followed by everyone in the office. A policy can include any of these things:

  • Approved applications - This can be a list of approved applications and software which your employees are welcome to download onto their machines, This will allow people to download tools they need as well as ensure that these downloads don’t have an effect on your machine. 

  • Passwords - a policy can be put in place to choose a password which is 10 characters long with a number and special character. An extra policy should be put in place to change passwords every three months to ensure that all computers are safe against hacking.

  • Enforce consequences - when creating a policy for anything, you need to add some conditions to them. If a policy is not followed there should be consequences and this is something which will make all the difference to your business. 

  • Proper use - when using the company computer, there should be a set of guidelines to show people what they can and cannot use. For example, you might allow them to use YouTube to watch videos while working, but only as long as it doesn’t cover the whole screen. You can also think about the way in which people use online shopping on their lunch breaks, as this can be an issue for security. 

  • Emails - teach people about SPAM emails and how to avoid falling for a scam. 

3. Manage your online persona

One of the most important things to manage as a small business is your online reputation and tone of voice. When looking to gain positive recognition from your audience, it is important to be social, professional, and trending. You need to make sure that the people who are able to post on behalf of your page know what they are doing and how to act online. Be sure to teach your social media manager how to come across online and also make sure that they stay politically and religiously neutral online as to not risk alienating part of your audience. 

4. Protect with passwords

We’ve already mentioned the importance of passwords today, however we want to really delve into this idea more to ensure that you have the best possible chance of staying safe. 

One way NOT to create a password is like this:

Alpha123

This kind of password is too easy to detect and will be caught immediately. There are several ways to make a great password and today we will look at a few. 

The first way is to bash the keyboard and use whatever comes out: 

Rnebrnfr;aeicr2n 5fu0 

All you need to do now is save the password somewhere, such as with a tool like LastPass, and it will be there when you need it. 

Another way is to use random word association:

Mangopandacheese586

By using a few words together, it will be easier for you to remember however it will be almost impossible for anyone to guess the words. 

5. Look for security packages 

When it comes to choosing a security package for your computer, it is important for you to think deeply about every possible tool and ensure that you choose the best ones for you and your needs. Take your time and do some real research into the security packages which are available in the world and this will allow you to choose the best one for you.

Please note, this article contains affiliate links.

Qualities And Characteristics You Need For Success - And How To Acquire Them

Success

Photo credit: https://unsplash.com/photos/_6HzPU9Hyfg

Success is a wonderful word that we all want to be associated with in one way or another. When you hear the word, you immediately visualize good things. It can put you in a better mood instantly, just by the power of imagination. 

But who’s to say what success actually is? How is it measured? Sure, a lot of people picture a successful person as someone with too much money and all of the thriving business in the world. If that’s how you solely picture success, then good for you – you have high standards, and you’ll probably push yourself to reach them. Not everyone will reach the pinnacle, however, because it’s a place that’s reserved only for a select few. 

Success is defined as the accomplishment of an aim or purpose, and that’s how most of us view it, too. Whether it’s perceived as something small or big, it’s that feeling of achievement. In order for anyone to find success in anything, they need to have something about them. Nothing ever falls comfortably on our laps (well, perhaps they do for some people). 

Whether you’re tackling something that nobody has ever managed to tackle before, whether you’re trying to reach a personal milestone, or whether you’re trying to overcome a personal hurdle, you’ll need to have certain qualities. You don’t have to be Mr or Mrs Perfect and be flawless at every task you face, but it helps to have the skills to accompany your mission.

If you’re interested, let’s go through a bunch of different skills, traits and characteristics that are possessed by successful people.      

Organization 

In order to reach a good level in terms of your work or your overall standard of doing things, you need to have a degree of organization about you. Nobody ever got very far by stumbling along and hoping for the best. Being organized means having everything together – and that means everything. From your general plans and schedule to the bits and pieces that are assembled on your desk. People that manage to get lots done often have a working plan ahead of them. Hopping from task to task on a whim might sound like an easier idea, but it’ll only get you so far.  

Perpetual Motivation 

Motivation is something we all need just to function on a daily basis. Without it, we’d all just be sat around wondering what the point is. If you want to reach your goal and reap the rewards, you’ll need to be mentally switched on at all times. The way we get up in the morning is all based on how motivated we are to get the jobs done. 

When you’re struggling for motivation, it can be quite hard to pull it out of seemingly nowhere. You can, however, train your mind and get the motivation you need. You can watch videos, listen to podcasts and read up on the stories behind successful people. The law of attraction is also a popular method of getting what you want and being driven to do so.   

Bravery

We’re not talking about immense levels of fearlessness in terms of risking your life, instead, having the courage to commit to something. When you first set out to do something, you’re free to drop out at any time and continue on with whatever tame plans you had before. Heading in a new direction or pushing yourself to do something higher-octane takes some boldness. This doesn’t always have to be regarding something that could be detrimental or that stresses you out massively, though. There’s a fine line between bravery and stupidity!

A Sociable Personality

When you’re a person that people can bounce off of comfortable, you’re going to be in with a bigger chance of getting what you want in life. That’s just a fact. Popular and well-liked figures often get more out of life than reclusive types. As a more bubbly and sociable person, you’ll get to know more and more people. Thus, more opportunities can be found, and more networking can be done. Furthermore, when you’re good with people, you’ll develop a good reputation amongst them, and they’ll be more inclined to include you in things. 

Constant communication will mean you are subconsciously practicing. You won’t notice it as it’s happening, but your brain will constantly be taking in words, phrases, behaviours and mannerisms. These learned aspects of communication could turn you into an impeccable leader someday as leadership is more than just being the face of a group. Being a leader requires many skills, and being able to talk with everyone properly is a big one.  

A Constant Willingness To Learn

It’s very easy to slow down your pursuit of knowledge when you feel like you’ve reached certain levels. It’s understandable because you’ve gotten to the position you’ve needed. The learning was a necessary piece of the puzzle on this particular journey. If you want to constantly improve and build on any success you’ve already found, then you should always remain a keen student. It doesn’t matter whether you’re an expert in a particular field; you’ll never know it all. You could spearhead a big firm, like Mark Zuckerberg, Cynthia Telles, Jeff Bezos, and many others – it doesn’t give you the right to stop studying. Approach everything and everyone with the attitude of an amateur – you’ll be benefited hugely.  

Honesty 

This is split into two ideas: being honest with yourself and being honest with others. If you can’t look at yourself and honestly evaluate where you are, then you might not make progress that you want. Often, when people either lie to themselves or continue wishing the truth was something else, they operate around something that doesn’t exist and any issues they had become exacerbated.

Being open and honest with others is the second point here. Say you’re a boss and you have people working under you. When you need to have a chat with them, do you want to get the best results for both yourself and them? Sure, you do. The way you do that is by being completely sincere and frank. When you lie to people, regardless of the situation, it always comes back to bite you in the backside. Even if the truth is sore, you have to speak it. 

Self-Belief 

While it’s not totally necessary to have it in droves, it’s quite important that you believe in your own ability to do things. Some are born with loads of it, so they don’t need to worry about backing themselves. For those who are a little short of confidence, however, it can be worked on. Constantly studying, getting qualifications, experience – these will all boost your self-belief in a lot of subjects. 

Patience

Good things come to those who wait is how the old adage goes. And when you want something good, it’s going to take a while to reach you. Sure, some lucky souls hit the bigtime overnight, but those are one in a million instances. You need to have patience because, without it, you could give up way too soon.

You may feel as though you’re wasting your time when you’re just around the corner from something special. Patience is also a wonderful trait possessed by leaders in terms of teaching, passing down advice and working together with contacts. 

A Positive Mental Attitude

Finally, and this is often smirked at by many, but people at the height of success view life with a glass half full kind of attitude. There’s always a brighter side to any outcome. There’s always an opportunity to capitalize on. If you’re moping around with a negative mindset all of the time, you’re going to get nowhere fast.

Please note, this article contains affiliate links.

4 Ways to Promote Your Business Online and Offline

Promoting an online business

Rosana Beechum

To succeed as a small business, it’s necessary to promote it. While this isn’t always what a new business owner wants to hear, the reality is that customers rarely just walk through the door unless you’re a retail store in a central position. If the business is office-based, no one knows about the company until it’s been established for some time unless you’re proactive about promotion.

Here are 4 ways to promote your business on a small budget both online or offline.

1.     In-person Marketing with Classy Promotional Materials

Producing well-designed product brochures, glossy flyers, and eye-catching posters offer a great way to promote your business to new customers. Whether you send out a brochure in the mail or market at a business expo, having exceptional marketing materials provides exposure for your company and shows your financial ability (and hence success) to do so.

An inexpensive graphics designer hired from Upwork.com or Fiverr.com is going to be able to knock out some interesting designs to get you started. Additionally, cheap printing online which you can get by visiting zoeprint.com keeps the quality up while ensuring the printer costs stay even lower than expected. You can also use an online brochure maker for easy design.

2.     Guest Post on Related Websites

Getting your brand mentioned on other websites is an effective way to drive new visitors to your site. Writing a guest post that appeals to another website’s audience and has some overlap with your own is ideal.

Develop genuine business relationships with the owners of the other websites you wish to approach to get a guest post published. Engage with the owner so they know your name when you contact them later with a guest post request.

3.     Sponsor a Local Event

To develop local business, look beyond Google's local search results. There’s an opportunity to get your brand in front of local people by sponsoring an event. Event managers need corporate funding to help cover the cost of running their event so they’re usually happy to place your company’s branding prominently in exchange. When the event is in support of a great cause, that’s even better.

4.     Advertise Selectively Online

Online advertising doesn’t need to be overly expensive. By using Facebook’s advertising platform, it’s possible to target people by location. Additionally, demographics can be selected to narrow down a specific audience to the market target. This makes advertising more affordable because it avoids marketing to larger groups of people, most of whom aren’t suited to your company.

It’s also possible to use the Facebook pixel, which visits your website and lets Facebook identify previous visitors to your website who are also their users. They can then be re-targeted with ads to tempt them back with a special offer. This also makes it possible to show adverts to people who are similar to your existing customers, Facebook finding people in their database with close interests.

Promoting your business doesn’t need to be overly expensive. Whether spreading the word about the brand in the local business community or using online advertising to drive targeted traffic, being strategic about marketing can drive higher growth rates in your business’ early years.

Please note, this article contains affiliate links.

7 Steps to Building an Email List

Whether you’re brand new to building a business or you’ve launched your fifth, having an email list to critical to your selling success. To help you get started building your next email list, we’ve pulled together a list of the top seven things you can do to start building yours now.

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So You Want To Scale Your Blog Biz: What You Need To Know

Despite having been around since the very first days of the internet, blogging still remains very much a staple of the digital world.

Modern content monetization methods were all brought into existence by bloggers. And though the level of competition today is overwhelmingly tougher to contend with than it was a decade ago (or even earlier), the big improvements in technology accessibility have ensured that turning blogging into a source of income is still completely viable. 

But there’s a big difference between picking up some small amounts of affiliate commission, and making enough money from your blog that it can conceivably become your primary revenue source.

Regardless of your current level, scaling a business is a real challenge. It’s essential that you do your research first — so before you try to scale your blog, here’s what you need to know.

Automation tools are essential

Blogs almost always start out as solo operations, and there’s a decent chance that you’re in that boat right now.

Handling a business solo has its pros and cons: having complete control over everything that happens is a big positive, but it makes you the bottleneck. Only through your work can anything happen — the moment you can’t keep up with demand, your business will be left in limbo. This is why you need to free up your schedule as much as possible.

If you’re serious about scaling, you’re going to have to embrace automation. Luckily, there are many automation options available for bloggers, and it’s usually easy, free and fun.

Think about all the tasks you do for your blog on a frequent (or even daily) basis. Which parts need your creative input, and which are repetitive processes that require little thought? The latter are going to cause you trouble the larger your business gets, so it’s best to find ways around them right away.

For example, take social media and email marketing. If you want to scale your blog biz, you will also need to scale your promotion.

This is where automation will be invaluable. There’s no shortage of great email automation tools, and plenty of advanced social media tools for communicating across multiple platforms.

Think carefully about everything that goes into your average day, and hunt down tools for saving time and making your life easier.

Take shortcuts with your visuals

Your visual content on your blog is as important as your written content — it’s what’s going to grab people and reel them in, illustrate your points, and inject some vibrancy to your posts. Every blog post needs at least one image to accompany it.

And although it would be great to use original images taken with an expensive camera and edited on PhotoShop until they’re perfect, this isn’t always (or usually) possible. Time and money get in the way — especially if you’re trying to scale your blog biz.  

Thankfully, there are ways to get around this. The creation of free stock image sites — which offer millions of high-resolution, royalty-free images — is the blogger’s savior when it comes to scaling a business. It’s an easy way to scale up, offering you countless images to add to blog posts and social media promotion without the effort or money previously needed.  

Plus, if you want to further reduce the time you spend hunting down stock images, you can try a stock image plugin (if your blog runs on WordPress) to choose an appropriate image without even needing to leave the post window.

You may need help with content production

No matter how prolific a blogger you may be, and how relentlessly you can type at pace, it’s super unlikely that you’ll be able to hugely scale your content production process without suffering from burnout. Whether this is creative (writer’s block is the worst) or physical (RSI is a real concern for bloggers), or both, you definitely want to avoid this.  

That’s why you’ll need some kind of human assistance at some point. 

You may not like the idea of farming out your content to other writers (especially if your blog is your baby), but you don’t actually need to do exactly that to speed up your production. There are other elements you can hand out — like research, graphic design, networking, or even editing (you can write the rough draft, then pass it to someone else to be cleaned up, or vice versa).

How you go about it is totally up to you. You can hire a full-time employee, get a part-time employee, or hire a freelancer using a freelance website like Fiverr or Upwork (there are many different freelance sites that you can choose from).

The point is that you have options. And, if you feel that you’re biting off more than you can chew when it comes to scaling, you can find ways to pick up the pace without completely sacrificing your creative integrity.

Reworkable material is invaluable

Getting the most value you possibly can from each piece of content becomes more important the more you scale.

This is because quality demands get much higher, requiring you to invest more time, effort and resources into everything you do. Uploading a blog post that ultimately gets a couple of thousand views might be solid for an amateur operation, but not for a business.

One of the best ways to increase the value you receive from a piece of content is to make it reworkable.

What we mean by this is that you can create a substantial piece of content that can then be adapted for various distinct platforms. For instance, writing a post that can easily become a script for a tutorial video, or be turned into a podcast, or cut down to an infographic. There are lots of ways that you can repurpose a blog post. 

It’ll take longer to create a comprehensive piece of source content, but that investment will pay off in the long run, allowing you to create 4-5 unique pieces of content that will attract different (and bigger) audiences. This will also allow you to showcase your expertise in specific areas, which makes you look great if you’re trying to establish yourself as a thought leader in your niche.

A mix of evergreen and seasonal content is ideal

Broadly speaking, there are two types of digital content: evergreen, and seasonal.

Evergreen content covers topics that are always relevant. For example, this piece is (in principle) evergreen, because people seek to grow their blog businesses all throughout the year.

 Then there’s seasonal content, which covers topics that are only relevant either temporarily or at certain times of the year — topics like recent news stories, or public holidays, or (as the name suggests) the changing seasons. 

Each type of content has its advantages. Evergreen content is great for building up search rankings over time, because it’s always valuable to someone. Seasonal content is perfect for attracting maximum attention when deployed at the right time.

That’s why it’s good to aim for a decent split between the two for your scaled-up content — that way, you’ll cover your bases.

You should monetize everything you can

Unless you happen to be super-rich and you’re scaling up your blog business just to have something to do, making money is going to be a primary concern — perhaps the primary concern — of your blog.  

To make as much money as possible, you’ll want to monetize as much as you can without damaging your content and turning your blog into a walking, talking advert for someone else’s business.  

Here are four tips for achieving this:

  • Sign up to all relevant affiliate schemes. There are plenty of affiliate programs out there, with lots aimed squarely at bloggers. When you link to particular products (many of which you might link to anyway), you can get a commission for each person who clicks that link and places an order.

  • Clearly state your willingness to do business. Many bloggers are interested in finding ways to monetize what they do, but not all of them are. If someone arrives on your site and decides that they’d like to work with you, you’ll need some copy in an obvious place to explain that you do work with brands and you’re willing to listen to ideas and form partnerships.

  • Run ads on your blog. We maybe wouldn’t advise using something like Google’s AdSense, because even a small number of automatically-loaded ads can really dissuade someone from following your website, but you can easily run manual ads. Let people know that you’ll consider ads, then figure things out as you go.

  • Start selling branded products. It’s great to have a large audience and build sponsorship deals with big companies, but making your brand marketable will really expand your range of options. Think about branding merchandise: print-on-demand shirt services are very convenient and easy to use.

  • Reach out to prospective partners. It’s always good to be proactive instead of waiting for potential income sources to find you. If you think you have an audience that would be valuable for a particular brand, send them an email. Realistically, the worst outcome is that they turn you down, and you try again with someone else.

Lastly, and maybe most importantly for your sanity, you need to know that it’s going to take time to get where you want to go.

Blogging is a slow and labored business, with audiences typically building up over years. While you can definitely get some fast results, there isn’t really any way to take a shortcut to lasting long-term success.

So be patient with your scaling, stick to your long-term plan, and don’t make any snap decisions. Good luck!

5 Rookie Mistakes To Avoid When Writing Your First Book

Writing your first book is simultaneously exciting and terrifying.

It’s a journey, and as a new writer, you’ll learn plenty of lessons along the way. (And come out of the experience a whole lot wiser and stoic than you once were!)

One of the things that you won’t be able to avoid when you’re writing that first book is making mistakes. It’s a given, and these experiences will help to mold you as a writer. However, there are some very obvious mistakes that you can easily avoid, that will save you a lot of time and effort.

To give you a helping hand, we’ve come up with a list of the five big rookie mistakes to avoid when writing your first book. Read on for some handy tips.

Recommended reading: New Grads: How to Get Your Career Started After College

1.   Thinking your book will be perfect instantly: it won’t

This is one of the first things you need to get your head around when you are penning your first book; your book will not be perfect.  

Don’t be too hard on yourself when you’re writing. It’s all too easy to get frustrated when you don’t like what you’ve written so far, and when getting rid of it all is as simple as hitting the “delete” button, it’s pretty tempting to scrap the lot.

If the overwhelming urge to delete everything you’ve written so far and throw your laptop in the river becomes too much, take a step back. Go outside. Make a cup of coffee. Play with your dog for a bit. If you’re really not liking where a chapter or draft is going, save it away somewhere safe and try a different angle — but don’t delete. 

A note taking tool like Evernote means you will never lose track of an idea. Transferring all your notes to this app means you can tag offcuts based on chapter, character or scene. With your notes organized and accessible via a few clicks, it’s easy to keep work not deemed good enough safe, just in case you change your mind.

2.   Using inappropriate dialogue tags: “said” is enough

When we say using inappropriate dialogue tags, we mean words or phrases like “said” that describe characters speaking.

This is one of the most common mistakes that novel newbies make and it’s a clear earmark of a new writer. Dialogue tags from new writers can often be clunky and obvious, using words like “laughed” or “snarled” to convey emotion in a messy way. 

You don’t want your tag to stick out in your sentence — it should be there to gently guide the reader without getting in the way of the story, while perhaps giving an indication of the tone that the character is using. Dialogue tag mistakes can be easily avoided

Sometimes, less is more, and “said” is enough. Knowing what is effective and what isn’t will help you to craft a better story.

3.   Not seeking help: invest in book editing services

Writing a book is hard, and writing your first book is even harder.

A classic rookie mistake that many writers make when penning their first novel is not asking for expert help and then sending off their manuscript to publishers expecting it to be picked up instantly. And chances are, it won’t be. 

You need to make sure that you give your novel the best chance it’s got of being published. The best way to do this? Investing in editorial services.

Agency editors will help you fine tune your manuscript and produce the best final draft you can. Leaning on highly experienced editors save time, addresses issues with your work, and reduces frustrations, whether you’re writing non-fiction, a children’s book or a thriller.

But editorial pros do more than get your manuscript in good shape. Editing service Jericho Writers states that “when you submit your manuscript to an agent, you’ll require a synopsis, a cover letter and the first three chapters of work.” Don’t know where to start? Seek a helping hand from the experts.

4.   Mixing your POVs (point of views): stick to one character

POVs are frequently mishandled by new authors, who chop and change between the thoughts and feelings of different characters too suddenly.

Needless to say, this is extremely confusing for the poor reader, who has to struggle to keep up with which character they are currently following. It also makes it unclear who the protagonist in the story is — who are we meant to support and empathize with in times of conflict?

Mixing up your POVs is a huge no-no: stick to one protagonist’s thoughts to avoid confusion.

If writing from different perspectives is key to the concept of your story or is a valuable contribution, then you can, of course, use multiple points of view. However, it is wise to keep to one POV per chapter or section of your book. This will help you to avoid rejection letters.

5.   Being too “wordy”: show don’t tell

Getting carried away with unnecessary descriptions and excessive, over-the-top words is a rookie mistake that should definitely be avoided.  

Many new writers do this — they want to portray the story that’s stored up in their heads, but they end up rushing over descriptions, hyperbolizing and using far too many unnecessary words to get their point across.  

Laundry lists of clichéd descriptions do not make for good reading; they’re boring, and add very little to the story. If you’re going to paint a picture of your characters, do it with subtle details and show their personality through actions rather than just stating the obvious. 

Don’t dump information: weave the backstories and personalities of your characters into their actions in the story you’re telling.

Everything you write should have a reason behind it; every sentence, every intricate detail, should be considered and should help to build a character or set a scene.

It’s worth noting that another rookie writing mistake is to write weak, bland descriptions or write a book that is absent of descriptions entirely. You want to transport the reader to the setting of your novel; make them feel involved in your story and invested in your characters. The best way to do this is to paint a vibrant picture with your words. 

These are just some of the rookie mistakes that you should avoid when writing your first book. Of course, there are many more — lacking direction in your plot, unbelievable characters or dull concepts, to name but a few. It’s always best to seek a second opinion (and third, and fourth…) from the people around you, as well as proofreaders and editors. They will help you to discern what your novel needs, and what can easily be dropped.

Lastly, remember to enjoy writing! It can feel hard sometimes, but it’s all worth it in the end.

How to Start Your Own Online Trading Business

Trading

Photo Credit: ethereumcode.io

Back in October, Fem Founder published ‘7 Easy Business Concepts Every Founder Needs to Know’. The article discussed what you need to know to establish and run a business — from gaining a competitive advantage to customer acquisition, cost and everything else that matters. 

But just in case the pursuit of a traditional business — selling a product, for instance, or providing a service — doesn’t appeal to you, there are alternatives. One alternative is online trading. Here, all you’ll need is a bit of capital, internet access, a PC, and lots of knowledge, foresight, and courage. So, if this pursuit interests you, here is a primer on how to start your own online trading business. 

Trading Stocks

First thing to do here is to familiarize yourself with the stock market. The Balance defines stocks as “small pieces of a company.” When trading stocks, you are in effect buying shares in a company and earn a profit by selling them in the future, when the price increases. So, say you buy Apple stocks for $1,729.2 at $172.92 per share and suppose these stocks appreciate to $180 per share. You can then sell your stocks for that price, meaning you will have earned $70.8 from the trade. 

Once you’ve acquainted yourself with stock trading, go online, find an online stock broker, and open an account. Some of our recommendations in this regard include TD Ameritrade, Fidelity, and E*TRADE, although you can try out other sites, too. From there, it’ll be about applying what you have learned, following the stock market, and buying and selling stocks. 

Forex

Forex stands for foreign exchange. As with anything trading related, first thing to do here is to learn why currency values rise or fall, and what influences these fluctuations. Once you understand this, you can proceed to opening your own account online. 

For forex, BM Magazine recommends starting with at least $1,000. Having that initial capital means you’ll have a buffer just in case you incur any losses at the start. Even if you do, it’s important to stay the course. Remember, not every venture will provide you a revenue stream right away. Study the different currencies you’re interested in trading, get the latest news, and keep trading. 

Trading Precious Metals

The process involved in trading precious metals is pretty much the same as the previous two options: learn about it, open an account online (peruse the web for this step), and start trading. Articles on Investopedia that teach you how to trade gold are a great resource and are written clearly and are easy to understand. Gold happens to be the most popular among precious metal traders, as they use it to diversify risk during tougher economic times, which might impact their financial holdings. 

As far as trading gold is concerned, there are a few options. One is through public exchanges, which are regulated platforms that are centralized and act as intermediaries. Another option, according to FXCM's article on gold trading, is over-the-counter trading through the New York Commodities Exchange. Among these two options, trading via public exchanges is the recommended as many risks, including fraud, lack of transparency, and loss of funds are mitigated. 

The most important takeaway here is the need to continue to learn as you go along, starting with the basics up to the more advanced workings of the market. The trading platforms are relatively easy to use, and the capital required is by and large within your reach. Now, it is worth keeping in mind that investing doesn't guarantee anything. But that doesn't mean you shouldn't try it. 

New Grads: How to Get Your Career Started After College

Amy Collett

Amy Collett

Graduation day is nearly here, and your excitement is rapidly transforming into terror. Becoming a working woman sounded great in the hypothetical, but what about in reality? There’s so much to do and you don't even know where to start, let alone where you want to end up.

Before you spiral into a panic, stop and breathe. You don't need to have your whole future planned out right now. Take these steps to get started in your career, and as you gain experience, you'll develop a clearer picture of what your dream job looks like.

Find a Path

The biggest mistake new grads make is waiting for inspiration to strike before chasing a career. But waiting for the perfect opportunity wastes time and kills your momentum. Rather than stressing over your perfect career, find a job that suits you and make the most of it. It might not be your forever career, but most women switch jobs three to four times between college graduation and their 30th birthday. By doing something, you build your resume and your confidence so you're prepared when that perfect opportunity comes along.

Polish Your Resume

There's nothing worse than realizing you can't fill a one-page resume. Before you send in a blank sheet of paper, take a closer look at your skills. You may not have job experience (although your on-campus job totally counts), but you probably developed valuable skills in your volunteer gig or while leading a campus organization. 

Don't merely list experience and expect employers to make the connection to their open position. If you really want to convince employers your skills are transferable, you need to frame them the right way. Focus on accomplishments and keywords, not a list of your duties.

The right format also helps your resume look polished, rather than bare. Search for professionally designed resume templates that make creative use of white space to design a resume that's modern, visually appealing, and easy to read. That way, you can include all of the vital details without adding fluff just to fill space.

If you find yourself struggling to write your resume, sometimes it may be best to turn to experts. There are professional resume services available online that can help you with writing your resume. Oftentimes it's better to turn to them for assistance than to write your own resume if you know your writing skills won't be able to do your resume justice.

Land an Internship

Having trouble landing an entry-level job? Rather than taking a dead-end job to pay the bills, look for an internship in your desired field. Some internships don't pay, but many do. Check with your college's career services department, search job boards, and reach out to companies you'd like to work with. An internship is an ideal way to get your foot in the door and start making valuable connections in your field.

Network, Network, Network

Speaking of valuable connections, networking is easily the most important thing you can do to help advance your career. There's a lot of truth to the saying, “It's not what you know, it's who you know.” Companies are more willing to take a risk on you if you have a glowing recommendation from someone they trust.

Networking is also one of the scariest parts of your career search. However, networking doesn't have to mean cold calling strangers and praying they'll meet you for a coffee. Start with your professors and campus connections and ask if they have industry contacts they can put you in touch with. (Yes, your parents really were onto something when they told you to meet your professors.) If you feel awkward networking, just remember the people you're reaching out to had to do the same thing to get their career off the ground.

Banish Imposter Syndrome

If you're constantly second-guessing yourself, so will everyone else. That's why it's so important to not let imposter syndrome rule your job hunt. If you don't try for the jobs you want because you think you're not perfectly qualified, you'll never get them. Even if you don't check every single box for a job you want, apply! The worst that can happen is they say no.

As a new grad, there's so much pressure to have everything figured out. But what your career counselors aren't telling you is that most people are winging it, at least at first. As long as you're taking steps forward, you're headed in the right direction.

Why E-commerce Businesses Need to Develop a Brand

Kayleigh Alexander

By: Kayleigh Alexander

A strong brand is essential for any business, whether you’re a freelancer or run a multinational corporation. But in an environment as competitive as online business, a failure to create a strong brand puts you at a huge disadvantage.

Every business must have a brand. It has always been important, but now it is more important than ever. Here’s why you cannot afford to neglect building a brand—along with some tips for how to go about doing so successfully.

Recommended reading: 7 Easy Business Concepts Every Founder Needs To Know

Why branding is essential

Branding has never been more important for ecommerce stores. Your brand will have a strong say in whether your e-commerce business is a success or a failure.

With any business—but e-commerce in particular—you need to create a bond with your customers. After all, there are plenty of other e-commerce stores waiting to take their money if you don’t provide what they want. 

While people are more comfortable with the idea of spending their money online than they were even a few years ago, they still need to feel comfortable when they arrive at your store. They need to trust you before they type in their credit card details, and this is where your brand can help.

It boosts brand recognition

Branding also boosts your recognition online. You need to be recognized online because you need to stand out. There may be dozens of stores selling what you sell, and you have to find a way to make your store memorable for positive reasons.

Your brand makes you unique. It’s something that other stores cannot offer, and it is what helps to set you apart.

It creates (and capitalizes on) emotion

Branding is all about the emotional connection and how you make your customers feel. When people think of your store, you want them to immediately feel a positive association with it, which will help to drive more business. 

Essentially, you want them to feel good when they shop on your site because this increases trust and increases the chances that they will choose your store rather than the competition.

It inspires loyalty

Finally, a strong brand inspires greater loyalty, which is essential for your e-commerce store to survive and thrive.

You want your customers to not only come back but to tell all their friends how great you are. You want to convert them into brand advocates so they will promote your business for you and provide compelling social proof.

It helps you stand out in a saturated market

The market is saturated. Competition from other e-commerce stores is tough enough, and then you have marketplaces like Amazon to compete against. 

Your brand can make the difference, not only in tempting customers away from the industry titans either. It also gives your business value beyond its essential operations (should you ever want to test out direct selling, an increasingly-popular pursuit for e-commerce entrepreneurs, that value would be essential).

How to brand an e-commerce store

Now you know the importance of branding, you need to know how to build your brand.

It all starts with your design

Start with the basics, which means setting up a website that is well designed, mobile-friendly, blazing-fast, and with a simple and straightforward checkout. When people come to your store, they should have a memorable experience from the off, and that starts with your website design. 

Focus on strong and attractive design. Make wise choices with your color, fonts, logo, tagline, and more, and use the same style in everything you do to increase recognition, including your emails, blog posts, social updates, and guest posts.

It’s a good idea to use a reliable and popular platform for your eCommerce store, as this will generally have features available that make branding easier. One of the most popular platforms tends to be Shopify. You can read a Shopify review here.

Implement a strong content strategy

Part of a successful website involves creating amazing content. Create blog content based on user guides and helpful information surrounding the products you sell. Consider the tone of your content and decide whether you want it to come across as funny, upbeat, friendly, welcoming, or anything else.

A quick hack is competitor research. Identify what your competition is doing and the topics that they cover, then do the same, but better. Check out ecommerce websites for sale in your niche and get a feel for the kind of content they publish. Find those e-commerce businesses that command a higher price than their competitors — these are the ones that have perfected their brand, boosting their value as a result.

Look out for trends and popular posts. These will help you flesh out your content strategy quickly without resorting to (often expensive) research tools.

Create a genuine customer relationship

Engage with your customers on social media and in your blog comments. Always reply to their comments, and use every contact as an opportunity to build your brand. This extends to your customer service too. 

Provide exceptional customer service, whether on your website, over the phone, or via social marketing. Amazon is known for its focus on brilliant customer service, and you can do the same. Get known for this, and you’re sure to drive more business.

Appeal to your USP in everything you do

Know what your unique selling proposition (USP) is. Work out what makes you different and why people should shop at your store and not the others. 

It could be that you offer more choice, better prices, better customer care, free shipping on everything, no-questions-asked returns, or something else entirely. Ensure you keep your USP at the heart of everything you do, from sure everything you do has this as the focus.

Write a brand story with heart

Create an About Page that tells your story. Provide details about the people who started the store, why they did this, and what your mission is. Make it personal — by giving your brand a human history, you breathe life and personality into it.

And get creative with your story delivery too. A written story works fine, but so too does a video telling. Interviews with your brand founders, Q&A sessions, or even an interactive timeline all make for an engaging brand story delivery.

Embrace a multichannel social presence

Be present in more than one place. Build your presence on Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, and other sites. People find brands in different ways, and you want to make sure they encounter you.

And creating a sprawling social presence gives a human element to an otherwise flat business. Regularly posting on social shows that you’re more than just a business — you’re a lively, active brand that your customers can engage with on a human level.

Your brand is how people feel when they think about your business, and you want to make sure that emotion is a positive one. The more people trust you and enjoy buying from your store, the stronger the relationship will become—and the more they will want to continue being your customer. 

Everything you do affects your brand. So decide how you want people to feel about your business, and then set about defining a strong brand in everything you do to make your business more competitive in the e-commerce space.

Data Loss: 4 Ways to Help Your Small Business Recover

By Amy Collett

By Amy Collett

Data is invaluable to any modern-day business and losing it can mean the death of a company. According to Clutch, 58 percent of small businesses are not prepared for data loss. Because of this, the majority of small businesses that lose their data are forced to shut down within six months of an event. Don't let this scare you just yet! If you act quickly and take the correct next steps, your business can recover and you can prevent this problem from occurring again. 

1. Call in Professionals

When you first notice missing data, don’t try to recover it yourself. It’s very possible your data is still accessible somehow, but messing around in your storage system can lead to permanent loss. Specialists like Secure Data Recovery know their way around hardware and software, which makes them the best bet for safely recovering data without causing additional damage. They can also help you keep your important business operations online while you work to recover from the loss. Until the pros can conduct an analysis of your problem, it’s best to shut down your computer completely.  

2. Determine the Cause of Data Loss

Most often, people have no idea why their data is missing. Try to find out what went wrong so you can help your data recovery specialists get your data back and prevent the problem from happening again. Data is most often lost due to human error, technical failure, or targeted attacks. For example, it’s easy to accidentally delete the wrong files or overwrite existing files when updating your business records. On the other hand, your data loss may be the result of a virus or malware. In this case, it's very possible that attackers are stealing data rather than simply deleting it. Look out for the signs of a data breach if you suspect this may be occurring. 

3. Write a Letter to your Customers 

Most states have laws in place requiring businesses to notify their customers if their data is stolen. Although this can hurt your company’s reputation, it’s much better than facing class-action lawsuits. You may be required to send your customers a written notice detailing everything you know about the data breach. Two of the most important things to include in your notice are what your business is doing to fix the situation and what specific actions your customers can take to protect themselves.

4. Be Prepared Next Time

Just because you already lost your data once doesn’t mean it won’t happen again. Preventing data loss is an important part of business planning and should be one of the first things you do as your business recovers from this setback. Set up a solid recovery plan and a system for conducting regular backups. Mashable recommends backing up your files to more than one computer and storing at least one copy off-site. Ideally, you should back up your important files every day and a minimum of once per week.

An IT disaster recovery plan should also be developed so you know exactly what to do the next time you’re faced with a major system problem. This should include a way to quickly switch your operations to run on backup data so you can reduce downtime. 

Finally, be on the lookout for signs of a failing hard drive: 

●      Frequent error messages

●      Slower computer performance

●      Scrambled file names

●      Frequent program crashes

●      Files and folders that disappear

●      Grinding or clicking sounds in your computer

If you notice any of these problems, back up your data immediately and have a professional take a look at your system. Your computer's hard drive is the device that stores and retrieves digital information. When it goes, your data goes with it. 

Although being faced with significant data loss will likely cause immediate panic to any business owner, there’s a very good chance you can get it back. The greatest cost to your business will be the downtime you're forced to endure as you get everything back up and running again. This is why you should turn to professionals who know how to fix the problem as quickly as possible.

About the Author:

Amy Collett is the creator of Bizwell.org, a website that helps professionals and entrepreneurs build and strengthen their personal brand. She is author of the upcoming book, You, Exemplified: The Role of Personal Branding in Your Professional Life. When she isn’t helping clients boost their careers or businesses, she enjoys coaching her daughter’s soccer team and training to become a yoga instructor.

How To Repurpose A Blog Post: 3 Ways To Supercharge Your Content

By: Kayleigh Alexander - MicroStartups.org

Content is great for your business. It drives traffic to your website, sells the value of your brand, and converts visitors into customers. Repurposing blog posts is a way of producing brand new content quickly.

Below I’ve explained 3 great ways to repurpose blog posts, each of which adds immediate value to your business.  

Recommended reading: 25 Ways To Improve Your Content Marketing & Get More Traffic

Make an ultimate guide from existing articles

Long-form content is excellent for SEO. Blog posts over 3,000 words are more likely to get shared on social media, earn backlinks, and appeal to Google. You can create long-form content by making a guide from your existing blog posts.

Drill down to the root of your business. Are you a content marketing website, an e-commerce brand, or a female geared creative agency?  

Whatever your area is — that’s what you want to focus on.  

Then, give yourself a broad title and use your existing content to thicken it out. I’ll show you how this works using content marketing as our example.

●      Title: Content Marketing 101: The Ultimate Guide To Content That Converts

●      Existing blog titles:

○      Why Pinterest Is The Best Marketing Tool

○      5 Top Tips For Writing Content For Your Blog

○      How To Improve Your Blog Shares On Facebook

Add in every article relevant to content marketing and make each one a subheading. Then include a few new points for each one, so that the content isn’t duplicated. In no time at all you have an enormous mega-guide, giving you supercharged long-form content. 

Turn your blog posts into a free eBook

It’s over a decade since Kindle was launched. Millions of units have been sold and billions of eBooks have been published with the device in mind. Kindle has had its time in the sun but people still love eBooks, especially free ones with specialist advice.

Turning your blog posts into a free book is not so different from making an ultimate guide. Group your articles around a title and create a larger resource. I’ll show you now: 

●      Title: An Expert Guide To Content Marketing

●      Existing blog titles:

○      Why Instagram Is The Best Experiential Marketing Tool

○      5 Reasons Niche Content Is Perfect For Your Business

○      How To Boost Your Business With Email Marketing   

You add the “expert” flavor to your content by including quotes from your own business:

●      Your Head of Marketing gives their rationale for Why Instagram Is The Best Experiential Marketing Tool

●      Your Creative Director summarizes How To Boost Your Business With Email Marketing

●      Your CEO includes one reason Niche Content Is Perfect For Your Business  

Simple. Where it differs is in the value it adds to your business. Ultimate guides are great for SEO, eBooks are excellent as lead magnets. Lead magnets are a great way of driving customers to your business because they give them an incentive to do so – it’s a gift for their attention.

Overthink found HubSpot’s ten most lead magnets of 2017. Four of these were eBooks:

Once you’ve decided on your title, selected your blogs, and added the expert quotes, turning it all into a traffic-driving eBook is easy. Using a tool like Designrr allows you to create an eBook in minutes. Then add your eBook to your website and start getting more customers for your business using your repurposed content.

For more on lead magnets, check out the video below:

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Optimize for a niche audience

Niche audiences let you target quality over quantity. Narrow audiences are more responsive to topics angled to them. This is because they address their needs, not a general idea. This also makes them more receptive to sales promotion in your blogs. It’s simple enough to take an existing blog and optimize it for a niche audience.

Millennials are a great example of a niche that many marketers and brands want to appeal to right now. 

I’ll start with those same titles:

●      Why Pinterest Is The Best Marketing Tool

●      5 Top Tips For Writing Content For Your Blog

●      How To Improve Your Blog Shares On Facebook

Now they become:  

●      Why You Should Use Pinterest To Market To Millennials

●      5 Content Writing Tips Designed For Millennials

●      How To Reach More Millennials Through Facebook

Next you’ll need to optimize the content so it’s angled towards the topic of millennials. A quick way of doing this is to change references to “customers,” “audience,” or “readers” to millennials. This needs to be done naturally in order to show Google your blog isn’t a spam post, and you will obviously need to add in more data and research to show you understand the topic. 

Add a couple of new subheadings so there’s some fresh content in your blog post. Use software like Ubersuggest to give you ideas on what you include. You should also try Google’s People Also Ask:

After doing all this you’ll have a new blog post that’s niche focused and targeted to engaged readers.

Busy business owners don’t always have time to produce new content. By using these three tips you can turn your existing blog posts into a fresh asset. So go away and get repurposing!

7 Easy Business Concepts Every Founder Needs To Know

By Kayleigh Alexander

Over 500,000 new businesses are set up every month, but only half manage to get to the five year mark, a statistic that can be a little alarming if you’re thinking of founding one of your own. 

The infancy period of any start-up is volatile, and it can be especially difficult for entrepreneurs who don’t have any previous business experience.

Having a grip on some basic business concepts will give you some of the tools you need to successfully establish your brand and then keep it growing. Don’t blindly fight against established business norms — learn them, boss them, and then choose to subvert them if you want.

Here are seven easy business concepts that you need to know to help you realize your wildest creative business dreams.

Competitive advantage 

One of the main challenges for young businesses is finding a way to achieve and maintain a competitive advantage over other brands in a given market.

Put simply, a competitive advantage is an advantage you have over your competitors.  This is achieved by giving your customers greater value — either by offering lower prices or justifying higher prices by providing a better product or service.  

In his 1985 book ‘Competitive Advantage’, Harvard Business School professor Michael Porter outlined three core ways that businesses can achieve a sustainable competitive advantage:

●      Cost leadership means providing reasonable value at a lower price, which can be done by improving operational efficiency. Basically doing more with less — gig economy businesses are great for this

●      Differentiation means delivering greater benefits to the customer than your competitors can. This can typically be achieved through having an innovative product, a very high-quality product, or delivering a similar product as your competitors, but offering exceptional customer service. Differentiation is often how creative businesses like yours stand out

●      Focus means that the company’s founders understand and serve their target market better than its competitors. The key to focusing is to choose one specific target market, often a niche that bigger companies don’t serve, and then concentrating hard on nailing it.

Supply and Demand 

The concept of supply and demand is directly relevant to any company competing in the marketplace, regardless of its size. Supply and demand mean that a market will respond to changes in demand and supply to overcome surplus and shortages and therefore maintain an ‘equilibrium price’. For example, a shortage of gold leads to a higher price, because, as demand for gold increases, the upward pressure on prices would naturally prevent a shortage.

Supply and Demand Chart

Source: The Dasinger Daily

Understanding the specific supply and demand issues affecting both the sales and the purchases that your business makes will enable you to make more informed decisions.

Return on Investment

Return on Investment (ROI) is the financial benefit that is received from an investment, or, put more simply, a measure of what you get back compared to what you put in. For example, say you spent $1000 per month on Google Adwords, and your business made $2000 as a direct result of the ads, your ROI would be the difference. ROI is usually measured as a ratio, which in this case would be 2:1, because for every $1 you spend, you get $2 back.

Calculating ROI will help you to track what’s working and what isn’t working for your business. If your ads aren’t generating a profit, you will know that you need to make changes to them, or drop them altogether in favor of another form of marketing. 

Fixed and Variable Costs

When you start a business, your costs come in two forms: fixed and variable. Fixed costs don’t change when your sales volume changes, but variable costs do. Examples of fixed costs include the rent you pay for the space that your company uses, such as an office or storage facility, insurance, marketing and management salaries. Examples of variable costs are material and labor, the costs of which go up and down depending on sales. 

Economics

Source: PrepLounge

Understanding which costs are fixed and which are variable will enable you to budget and plan accordingly, and help you to identify what is a profitable price level for your products or services. If you suddenly lost your biggest customer account and therefore 25% of your sales, you’d still need to cover your fixed costs to keep your company running; figuring out these costs could be crucial to keeping your company alive.

Customer Lifetime Value

Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) is the total worth of a customer to a business over the entirety of their relationship. It’s important to your business because it costs less to keep existing customers than it does to acquire new ones. According to the book Marketing Metrics, “businesses have a 60-70% chance of selling to an existing customer, whilst the probability of selling to a new customer is only 5% to 20%”. Increasing the value of your existing customers will really help to drive growth. 

However, measuring CLV isn’t easy, with only 42% of companies feeling able to do it, and citing poor systems, lack of coherent marketing and lack of integration as the reasons why.

If big, established businesses struggle to measure CLV, then new and small businesses are likely to find it hard to make accurate measurements, but you can make a start with this simple formula: customer revenue minus the cost to acquire and serve the customer. If you are prepared to really drill down into the concept, there are more complex calculations that will help you get a more accurate result.

Customer Acquisition Cost 

Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) means the price that your business pays to acquire a new customer. It can be worked out by dividing the total costs associated with acquisition by total new customers, within a specific time period. For example, if you spend $500 on marketing in one month and acquire 500 customers, then your CAC is $1. Web-based companies can roll out highly targeted campaigns and track customers from leads to conversions, making their CAC highly accurate. 

If you’ve just started a business, acquiring customers is crucial to making sure it is a success, but if you spend too much money on acquiring customers, then you won’t be able to pay your other costs and keep your business afloat. CAC is directly relevant to CLV, and combining the two will allow you to calculate what is the true value of a customer to your business.

Minimum Viable Product 

Minimum Viable Product (MVP) is a development technique where a new product is introduced to the market with basic features, which will capture the attention of early adopters. Companies such as Uber, Dropbox, and Airbnb all started as MVPs and achieved very rapid growth. An MVP is a bare-bones version of a product that includes a minimum of features and directly addresses the core problem it is trying to solve. Once the initial product is successful, more features can be added.

Pyramid marketing

Source: Cheesecake Labs

An MVP allows you to release your product to market in the shortest possible time, reduce start-up costs and test demand before spending money adding all the bells and whistles.

An easy creative product-based MVP would be a print-on-demand business with low overheads. Simply set up shop, hook up with an app like Printful, and go out looking for ways to make your first sale. Using print-on-demand methods means you can keep costs of production down while you test your designs and brand out with your target market. 

On the service side, you might be looking to start a consultancy coaching business for creative entrepreneurs. Before going all-out, test the waters with a series of blogs, a webinar, or a training course (Thinkific is good for this) to gauge whether you have a viable market and compelling message. You may find that you need to adapt your messaging.

You can work directly with users to analyze behaviors and get feedback, allowing you to develop your product in ways that you know customers will like. Developing your business in this way can also avoid large capital losses, therefore attracting potential investors because it is a low-risk venture.

There’s a lot to learn when setting up a new business and there is no guarantee of success, but educating yourself about some of the basic principles will stack the odds in your favor. A firm grounding in everything from basic economic theory such as supply and demand to sophisticated development techniques like MVP will help you found a business that is both profitable and sustainable.


Kayleigh Alexandra is a content writer for Micro Startups — a site dedicated to giving through growth hacking and shining a light on innovative startups. Visit the blog for your latest dose of startup, entrepreneur, and charity insights from top experts around the world. Follow us on Twitter @getmicrostarted.